Sharing the lessons along the way…


Since there has been no doctor’s appointment to decrease my baclofen dose, I have opted not to do a catch up post.  Instead, I want to tell you about the fires of the week.  I want to share what has been happening in my mind in anticipation of Tuesday’s decrease.

I am not sure how often I say them aloud, but the phrases are constantly repeating in my mind.

“I’d better get this done before Tuesday in case I cannot drive…”

“I should do this now in case I cannot do this next week…”

“This might not be a problem now, but what if it becomes one and I cannot do anything about it after next week?”

This past week, I have felt like a firefighter.  I have flown down the pole, suited up and hopped on the truck to put out whatever fires may or may not exist.  Really, I was more like a firefighter who was all suited up, riding around in a big truck looking for the arsonist who had not yet lit his match.

Every little thing became a potential bigger thing.  For one relatively important example, my dog More’ had some accidents where he slept, several nights in a row.  If Tuesday didn’t include being a total of 25% less baclofen, I would have increased his pain medications and watched to see if there was improvement.

But oh no.  Tuesday is Tuesday and I had better figure out exactly what is wrong with him before then, so I have to figure out how to get him into the SUV I am borrowing to get him to the vet.  I couldn’t quite figure that one out, so I followed him around the yard to catch a urine sample to take into the veterinarian in the meantime.

My mind wouldn’t allow inaction on the issue.baby strawberry

My mind wouldn’t allow inaction on any issue, in fact.  I couldn’t possibly buy more toilet paper (although a friend brought me some), but I do have at least two of most of my other toiletries now.  I even picked up an “as seen on TV” purchase.

I couldn’t imagine why I was feeling so tired each day this week.  I couldn’t focus on what I needed to be focusing on (work, for example) and found myself behind.  My place was incredibly neat and tidy, but I felt behind and like everything else was more urgent.  It was urgent that I put out the potential fires.

Yesterday, I found my focus.  I completed work tasks, tried like the dickens to be present, did a test dog walk in the new power wheel chair for photos the potential book cover designer needs, watched grass change colors of green in the rain, and watched a baby strawberry grow.

There is no fire will be my mantra for the week…

There really is no fire.

(But just in case, I will drown it in toothpaste or smother it with cotton balls and toilet paper.)

Comments on: "Fires, Strawberries and Cotton Balls" (2)

  1. Holly Smith said:

    Keep going girl. And remember, every firefighter also has “brothers and sisters” who have your back.

Please share your thoughts about this post!

The Tawny's Blog

Sharing the lessons along the way...

Greyhound Advancement Center

Dedicated to improving the lives of greyhounds while serving the community

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

StevenDavisUK

Best Place to GET Inspired and STAY Motivated

lethargicsmiles

living life with chronic illness and a smile on my face

The Wit Continuum

not at my wit's end yet...

The Psych Professor

What does that mean?

Erika Fuego

Passion is your soul saying hi. This is my hello. These are my thoughts, feelings and words. Welcome to my world fellow Gods and Goddesses.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 592 other followers

