Sharing the lessons along the way…


In late 2009, I knew that there were some big changes coming down the pike for my life and the lives of a few of my friends. 

I welcomed them before fully understanding what they might be because at that point, it was exciting.

Early in 2010, these changes were occurring and it was exciting.  I was actively creating, but by the middle of the year, it was no longer as exciting for me because that was when the accident happened with my pump. 

At that time and for the following six months, I lived in fear of what life would look like without the pump.

These were not the types of changes I had envisioned. 

As I healed from the first surgery in September of 2010, I learned about impermanence on a deeper level than I had when I learned it at the onset of the illness. 

As I healed from that surgery by early in 2011, I was ready to get back on track to the original path.  I had rejoined my life and was actively creating what happens next. 

Two more surgeries later before March 2011 was half over seemed to veer me off the path once again.

Or did it?  Through those, I learned important lessons about working with fear in that life without the pump wasn’t nearly as scary as I had made it out to be in my mind.  I learned about balancing the power of the present moment, more about impermanence and more about gratitude, love and compassion.

I was eager to get back on the path and back to the business of creating what happens next, but my body was not cooperative. 

I had made some very necessary adaptations to work within the bounds of my body, the illness symptoms, and the pain from the surgeries. 

The original path still eluded me because then, there were complications from those three surgeries that required a fourth by the fall of 2011. 

All I kept thinking was how much time I was losing during this process.  I couldn’t see through the ridiculous pain that I was learning even more valuable lessons. 

Even up until a couple of months ago, I knew it, but I couldn’t quite grasp it.

I learned more about impermanence, more about power of gratitude, more about surrendering consciously and being a receptive person to others’ assistance. 

I learned more about the importance of a sense of community, what support really means and how valuable it can be.

I learned more about the importance of finding the lessons and growth in any experience.

After all of that, a depressive episode and many other relatively negative experiences, I have an even larger perspective of the original path than I could have had prior. 

I am far more open to any experience than I was before and I pretty much lived my life with the attitude of having nothing to lose before. 

Could I have learned all of these lessons in a different way?  I absolutely believe I eventually would have, but I did have the opportunity to learn them quickly and I have to count that as a blessing. 

I say that because the original path I envisioned has expanded as much as my perspective has. 

Now, I not only have a say in what happens from here, but I believe I can also create more than what my limited imagination could have without the lessons having happened so quickly.  

I share all of this because I needed to illustrate what it looks like to rewrite a life story on a completely different level. 

As I rewrite my own last chapter of my life story with new and different perspective, I take away the emotional attachment I have to that story (particularly the negative parts of the story). 

It is the only way to truly move forward without issues from that part of the chapter of my life story invading what I choose to create next.  I may choose to start that chapter over all together.  We all can do this anytime we choose!

Comments on: "Rewriting the latest story" (5)

  1. It takes a certain type of person to find all those lessons in the midst of all that change. Thank you for sharing your story with the world! Looking forward to the book!

  2. luvallbeings said:

    i posted a comment the other night but for some reason it didn’t post. So writing this mostly from memory. 🙂

    I love that you are able to step back,reflect and rewrite this chapter from a perspective of gratitude and with profound insight. It is not always clear as to why a situation that is negatively impacting our lives is happening to us at the time it is occurring. It is hard not to question the why or the ‘ISness’of it all; especially when we have had another vision in mind for ourselves.

    I am so happy that you are now experiencing a new excitement with creating what happens next and sharing all the lessons learned, both the good and the bad parts. I am grateful to have been able to be part of the process and be there for you to support you whether it was with quiet understanding or in more interactive ways. It’s awesome that your sharing of growth and learning impacts everyone you share your story with. I know for myself I am all the better for it and have also grown and learned quite a lot about myself along the way. I can hold it up against my own life situations and take on a new perspective too.

    You continue to amaze and inspire me Tawny and I just cannot say that enough, unless you get tired of it! Ha! thank you!

    • Thank you, Nina! I think sharing is at the heart of growing, and for me it accelerates my own growth process on so many levels. I do believe everyone has the potential and capacity to move beyond and expand his/her perspective from adversity. I share my experiences because if I can do it, anyone can! I cannot express my gratitude enough for having you as support through the process. As for getting tired of hearing that I inspire you…it is certainly helpful to hear because I don’t consider myself any more amazing or inspiring as anyone else I have met in this life so far. Wouldn’t it be lovely if we all told each other such things all of the time?

  3. luvallbeings said:

    I love that you are able to now step back, appreciate the lessons and re-write that last chapter with a whole new perspective with gratitude. It was hard to see while it was happening and we never know why certain situations negatively impacting our lives at the moment are happening and what they will ultimately end up teaching us.

    As you went through it, struggled, learned and experienced growth, so did we all right along with you so I guess that path was meant to be taken for all of us. And we are still learning, experiencing and growing by your sharing and reflecting. I am grateful to have been able to be there for you and be part of the whole process.

    Thank you for sharing these meaningful, valuable lessons. It is great that you are excited about creating what happens next Tawny, it makes me smile from ear to ear!

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

