Sharing the lessons along the way…

Happy Awards!


I apologize for my absence so far this month, but I return to you with some very happy news! 

My fellow  blogger Judy, a.k.a the Curtain Raiser, was kind enough to nominate me for not one, but THREE awards.  Judy touches on some meaningful and relevant issues in her blog Raising the Curtain.  She has a talent for making you chuckle and making you think more about an issue at the same time.  She has shared some great insights in the comments of some of my blogs as well. 

think Judy rocks and I have loved having her support for my writing.  I very much appreciate her passing along the love from her own award-winning blog.

These three awards come with some requirements from me and I will do my best to meet those.  The first requirement is to answer some questions.  First things first, the Q & A:

What is a real fear you have?  Ironic, given last month’s fear series, that I am asked this question!  My biggest fear is that I will miss the lesson tucked nicely within the experiences I have in this life.  I never want to miss the lesson, the opportunity to grow, and the opportunity to share the lesson along the way.  Sometimes I get caught up in the relatively trivial aspects of life and living with a chronic, progressive illness and miss the bigger picture.

How would you describe yourself?  I would describe myself as a resilient little shit!  I would say that I am also loving, compassionate, helpful, and perceptive.  I am also sensitive, independent and love to crack myself up.

What Countries have you lived in?  I have only lived in the United States and live vicariously through my friends’ who have lived in various countries in their lifetimes.

What is your style?  I think this might be a trick question—or at least one that could have more than one or two interpretations.   I try to calmly and consciously navigate my way.

What is your favorite breakfast food?  Eggs from a local farm’s pet chickens!

What are some of your hobbies?  I was joking about the vast number of hobbies I have not long ago with a friend of mine.  I love to write, read, research, walk and play with my dogs, play my djembe, listen to other people’s stories, learn to do new things, and I have recently inherited a keyboard and guitar that I hope to spend some time learning to play. 

If you could tell people anything, what would be the most important thing to say?  If you want things to change in your life, BE the change you wish to see.

What is one of your passions?  I have many and they all revolve around treating ourselves, each other, our animals and the earth with love and compassion.

What is the one truth you have learned?  Everything and Everyone is Connected.  E.E.I.C.

The final requirement for accepting these awards is to pay the love forward and nominate other faithful bloggers out there.

This one proved to be a challenge because many of the blogs I follow had already won these three awards (in addition to other ones, I might add.)   

As Judy did, I will nominate the following blogs for all three awards and hope that you will all take a moment to stop over and read what they have to say.  There are many talented bloggers out there!

400 days til 40  is so fun to be a part of as she is blogging her way to her 40th birthday and is touching on all sorts of relevant issues to all of us nearing or around this age.  It is a well-written, thoughtful and honest account of her approach to the big 40.

There is Always a Dog This blogger is a hoot!  His ability to describe a scenario is amazing and I love his perspective on the topics he selects.  Somewhere within his blogs there is always a dog!   Harry has also recently published a novel.  I found his blog from a referral from a mutual friend and several months later got to meet him in person as well.

Halfway Between the Gutter and The Stars  is a raw and honest first-hand account of mental illness with an often humorous twist.  Her sharing opens the door for others to share, which is breaking down the barriers and stigmas associated with mental illness.

Boundaries of the Soul is an educational blog by a psychologist who has a different take on mental illness than most.  I found his blog after he found mine and appreciate the resources and perspective he offers those who find him.

Concrete Moomin  I ran across this woman’s blog by accident.  She is sharing her journey managing a chronic illness and talks about her efforts to manage her energy and time so that she can live her life more fully.  I love finding those who are sharing their journey transparently because it bridges the divides and lessens the fears associated with chronic illness.

Growing a Vegan  A friend of mine referred me to this blog.  The blogger is sharing her experiences having eaten vegan throughout her pregnancy and now her son is a few months old.  She shares and seeks input about eco-friendly practices as well.  I highly recommend this blog to anyone who wonders about what it means to be vegan and any new mothers out there who are interested in doing it in an eco-conscious way.

Thank you all so very much for writing about what you feel passionately about! 

 

 

Comments on: "Happy Awards!" (8)

  1. Anonymous said:

    you’re an amazing person and i’m proud of you. you’re very thoughtful, mature and i don’t have the words to tell you especially since i knew but still miss and loved your mother so much…

    Like

  2. Anonymous said:

    Congratulations tawny!

    Like

  3. Hello. Thank you for the link to my blog. I found your blog as a result of that too so I’m now going to go and have a nosey at the rest of your site :).

    Like

  4. Thanks for the shoutout, Tawny. So often I find myself nodding my head at the contents of your blog. You always give me something to think about.

    Like

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

