Sharing the lessons along the way…

Fear Reflected


In my fear series, I talked about working cooperatively with fear.  To do this, when fear comes knocking on our door, I suggested we invite her inside for coffee or tea.  While having tea, I suggested we seek to better understand what fear has to tell us.

Working on my Tea Time with Fear guided imagery exercise for my blog provided me with a better understanding of the first time I met with fear.

Lately, fear has been knocking on my door quite frequently.  I believed I understood her.  I believed I knew why she was here.  Until today.  After all, I am the one who keeps suggesting we all work cooperatively with her.

Like the fears I shared with you when I wrote Lessons from the Pump, my current fear is rational.  I have reminded myself of the Fear Series. I am reminding myself how I came to the understanding that fear was here to help shed some light on my journey.

I am reminding myself that things go more smoothly when I surrender to what is, rather than resisting or fighting the is-ness.  I am reminding myself that I cannot lose the lessons I have learned throughout my journey with this illness.  Most of these lessons I have shared here in my blog, and just finished writing about in my manuscript.

Fear is my guest, and I have continued to be a gracious host and not a hostile one (most of the time, anyway).

This morning, I reminded myself that things can never be as bad as they once were.  I even wrote this on my bathroom mirror in red (honestly, it was the only dry erase marker I could find in the house).  I know this is true, but I do find reminders helpful.

My bathroom mirror!

This evening, as I washed my face and looked at these words written on my mirror, I asked again what possible purpose fear could be serving still here as my house guest.  Seriously, how much tea do we have to drink?!

My answer came in the form of a question:  What if fear is here to remind you of your strength?

Is that powerful to anyone else or is it just me?

Comments on: "Fear Reflected" (9)

  1. Truly, fear is here to remind us of our strength,
    and to incite our creative, problem solving abilities.

    fear keeps us alive and kicking – and writing on mirrors !
    a habit, i hope, never to break.

    notice, if you will, that when we write/draw on mirrors –
    we become part of the artistry to be viewed.

  2. Yes, powerful!

  3. luvallbeings said:

    Some moments of fear lately myself on what I am embarking on but strength does prevail and I like that perspective. I wish I could share what has been on my bathroom mirror, but I used a sticky note(no dry eraser marker) and it does help!

    • Why are you not sharing what is on your sticky note? I didn’t share what is written at the top of my mirror: “You got this!” Ha!

      • “You got this” is right! I don’t know why I’m not sharing. I guess it’s because I don’t want to share it with everyone, but will share part of it which is: I am and have unlimited abundance and potential..I am love etc etc 😉

  4. Well, facing the fear adds strength. There’s power in that… maybe the strengthening comes in increments along the journey and you’re about to reach another level! Get excited about that…lol… and put on another kettle of tea; it’s worth it. 😉

    • Maria, I just keep making tea! It sure seems like there are a lot of insights about a lot of things lately, which has to be leading to something!

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

