Sharing the lessons along the way…


Welcome To Florida Sign

Welcome To Florida Sign (Photo credit: DonkeyHotey)

Sometime around 4:30 a.m., I pulled into my father’s gated community, entered the code to open the gate, and began a new chapter of my life in Florida.  Eleven years ago this morning, a new journey began.

Ten years ago, also this time of the year, the symptoms of my motor neuron disease started.  My Florida chapter became more about figuring out how to cope  with rapidly progressing symptoms and the rapid loss of everything.

March generally brings with it the hope of newness.  It brings the start of spring, more daylight in the evenings, and new growth of all of nature.

Both of these anniversaries were wrought with struggle for me.  I imagine it to be like the seedling that may struggle to break through the soil in the spring.

While I have often been the resistant seedling, and the soil often compact, I have managed to break through to find myself growing in ways I never imagined possible.

English: Seedling

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I wouldn’t change any part of my Florida journey so far.  The struggling was a necessary part of my process.

While I do not believe struggle is absolutely necessary for everyone to grow, I do not believe such growth could have happened any other way for me.

Today, I awakened at 4:30 a.m. wondering why I was awake so early.  I found myself laying there in my bed, tightly wedged between two very asleep old dogs, feeling very grateful as I fell back to sleep.

March 2013 hasn’t had a smooth start so far, which is apparently not unusual for me if I look back at this chapter of my life.   Today, I choose to focus on the new growth that I know is just below the surface waiting to break through as we spring forward.

How has your March started?  Do you have spring fever, and will that manifest as change and growth in your own life?

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

