Sharing the lessons along the way…

Sunday Sum-Up #3


It has taken me all day to write this catch up post.  It wasn’t until a few minutes ago that I fully understood why it was such a challenge.  Last week was hard, I am glad it is over and really don’t want to revisit it.

While it wasn’t that eventful from the decrease in baclofen, it certainly was more emotional than I preferred.

To catch you up, I am having my pump removed for a whole host of reasons, but to do that, we have to decrease the dose by 10% each week.  Last week made the total decrease 35%.

The next five appointments are scheduled each Tuesday, and it looks like the pump will be surgically removed by mid-September.

Last week included several emotional meltdowns, three important doctor’s appointments in two days, and many opportunities to break out my big girl panties to take charge of my own treatment.  All of that was exhausting!

There were some firsts this week too.

For the first time since I started my blog in 2010, I posted seven days in a row.  I could have posted several times on each of those days, but didn’t.  Sharing what is happening, as it is happening—emotionally or physically—is very therapeutic for me.

Right now, if it is helpful, I am doing it.  If it isn’t helpful, I am not.

I also saw the fruits of my labor this week for the first time.  I am doing specifically targeted exercises that I learned from my very first physical therapist when the illness began.

At that time, I couldn’t even do the exercises, but he insisted I do them anyway and told me all about the brain research behind them.

Everything that I am doing is helping to make the left foot a bit more active in the walking process.  Both legs and feet are tighter with this decrease and there are new sensations in them.

The pain in my pump areas from these rehab activities continues to be worse and limiting in terms of doing more to help.  But I am still upright (except for dog walks) and driving.

Writing and sharing each day has been helpful in averting meltdowns.  I can only imagine how many more there might have been in this very time-crunched, emotional week for me.  I do not recall ever reaching out as often as I have in the two weeks.

I am pleased that I know what I need to feel better, or at least safer, during all these adventures into the unknown.  And that I am doing whatever I need to do to meet those needs.  It is a first that I am doing it with less effort.  I remember it being so much harder to reach out, but maybe I am just less resistant to it.

This Tuesday will make 45%.  I have no idea what that will mean, but I am not going to sit around on Wednesday watching the clock.  Instead, my dog Duke and I will go to work at the Homeless Emergency Project (HEP) because that is what is normal for us on a Wednesday.

Comments on: "Sunday Sum-Up #3" (4)

  1. Now this is more like it! This is the Tawny that I know!

    Instead, my dog Duke and I will go to work at the Homeless Emergency Project (HEP) because that is what is normal for us on a Wednesday.

    Like

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

