Sharing the lessons along the way…


Vulnerability

I cannot believe I am here.

I am in a place in my life where I am being transparently vulnerable in cyberspace.

If you had told me ten years ago I would be here, I would have laughed and laughed and laughed.

Being vulnerable was simply unacceptable.  Being openly vulnerable was unheard of in my world.  I did not know back then what it would take to change that.

I was actively working on it, but making only the slightest progress before becoming ill.  Through illness came opportunity for change because everything changed.

While I do not share every detail of everything with you, I am sharing the day-to-day trials and lessons from my experiences in most of the areas of my life.  My life includes titanium hardware and a progressive motor neuron disease, but my life is so much more than those things.

I could not have imagined sharing so much ten years ago or two years ago for that matter.

Today, I cannot imagine not sharing so transparently.

It is being vulnerable that makes us human.  It lets us be in touch with our humanity.  It allows us to see our interconnectedness.

It isn’t a bad thing.  I always thought it was, but it isn’t at all.  Our society isn’t a fan of vulnerability and has taught us many ways to avoid it at all costs.  Avoiding it is painful and lonely.

If I share, you share back.  We see how alike we are.  We no longer feel alone.

A week doesn’t go by that I don’t hear someone say they have lost faith in humanity.  Perhaps years ago, I had too because I was so out of touch with my own humanity.

Being vulnerable with you keeps me grounded in my humanity.

I cannot believe I am here.

What about you?  Do you find vulnerability scary?  Have you lost faith in humanity somewhere along the way?

Comments on: "I Can’t Believe I Am Here!" (4)

  1. Keep this up and I might just start thinking that
    humankind actually does have a chance.
    cyber-cynic

    Like

  2. Christine Cianciolo said:

    God bless you for sharing – you are a true inspiration to all.
    Jen’s mom

    Like

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

