Sharing the lessons along the way…

Reflection + Insight = Action


Reflection

When I was in my late teens and full of insight, my therapist used to tell me, “Insight without action isn’t worth much to you.”  I was a wise young thing, but I was really at a loss about how to act upon what I seemed to know.

Awareness and insight are wonderful things, unless you would prefer burying your head in the proverbial sand.  Generally speaking, I am not a fan of the sand.  It gets everywhere and is hard to clean.

Sometimes, I want to like the sand.  I want to be that person who can go bury my head as far down into it as is possible.  I often want to be the person who hides under the covers and comes out in a day, a week, a year.

But I am not.  And never have been that person.

I am the person who is just going about her day, minding her own business, when this flash of insight or awareness hits and suddenly something makes more sense.  I am the person who figures out the lesson and keeps moving forward with a plan or three.

Despite my mad planning, anticipating, and back up planning skills, my life operates very much on synchronicity.  I have learned over time and experience to make my plans flexible enough to allow for that additional resource, additional knowledge or insight that changes it around.

I am ok with that as my life.  In fact, it is one of my favorite things about being a reflective and aware person.  I don’t miss much and can figure out pretty quickly that the plan needs adjusted to fit the new.  I might not act on it as quickly as I would like, but I am getting faster at taking action.

Again, though, what good is any of the awareness, insight, knowledge I have gained through my experiences and education if I take no action because of it?

Not worth all that much, is it? I follow-up most of my epiphanies with, “So, now what are you going to do about it?”

I am a reflective person by nature.  I process things.  I write about them, talk about them and try to make some sense of them.

For at least ten weeks now, I have approached a Tuesday baclofen pump decrease with some level of anxiety.  Each of those weeks, I have chosen to do something differently to better manage that.

Each week, I have had epiphanies that have helped me to move forward into the next decrease.  Finally, last week, after gaining a new perspective, the anxiety was not an issue.

After tweaking something each week, I have very little anxiety.  After today, there are no more baclofen decreases, so I reckon I got here just in time!

Comments on: "Reflection + Insight = Action" (8)

  1. The Tawny River

    Awareness begins with the sunlight melting
    the snowy peaks of her perspective.

    The icy droplet of water falls into the crevasses
    that will become the tumultuous rapids of her youth.

    Experience and knowledge are gathered and
    creatively redistributed through the insight
    and wisdom of her churning white-waters.

    As the cascading slows – Tawny river still flows

    Even as she slips slowly and silently among us –
    her undercurrent is actively changing herself
    as well as the lives she has touched.

    There is a certain inevitability to our Tawny River,
    Nothing can stop her from finding her way !

  2. Doesn’t insight sometimes just make you feel better? Can’t something painful and seemingly random (or just unexpected) benefit from insight without action?

    • Hi David,
      It certainly can make us feel better to better understand something with new insight! For me, all the understanding and insight wasn’t enough to make the changes I needed to make to improve my quality of life, however. Even appreciating the “random” nice thing requires the action of being grateful, right? The act of saying thank you–even to the ether if you have no idea who did the nice thing?
      Hugs!

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

