Sharing the lessons along the way…

Post-Op Princess Day 7


Princess and the Pea

My last few surgery recoveries have not been the most conducive to healing.

There were a lot of circumstances out of my control.  This time is different.

I am grateful for help, I am in my own environment with my dogs, and everything is being taken care of that needs taken care of with very little effort on my part.

Yesterday, I felt like I was living the life of a princess (pretend there is no bodily trauma).  It was raining when the dogs and I woke up the first time, so I went back to bed knowing that I would get all the way up to eat my breakfast when Mr. Awesome arrived with it.

(Some of you may have noticed that said princess forgot to post her blog on that first wake up, and the second.)

After I worked some on my students’ assignments, I knew I should lay down for the afternoon.  But it was lunch time.  I was served some yummy soup a friend made for lunch, while I lay there in bed.  It came in my favorite soup bowl, complete with crackers and a folded napkin.

Mr. Awesome cleaned up the kitchen as I just lay there playing on my iPad and listening to mind-numbing television.  Do princesses have televisions?

My dogs went for a walk after the rain broke. They also think he is Mr. Awesome, and were trying to talk him into going for a walk before it stopped raining (which really isn’t like them).  I could get used to being treated like a princess and my boys don’t mind playing their roles as Dukes either.

So, I haven’t had to ask for much help because I really am being well taken care of.  There is no stress, no drama, no nothing that isn’t wellness focused.  It is quite nice and now that the headache is gone and the pain is decreasing, I can appreciate it more.

Just because I haven’t needed anything doesn’t mean I don’t want visitors, however!  I can make up things for you to do if you’d like, but at this point, I would love to just hang out for a bit.

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

