Sharing the lessons along the way…

Sum Up Sunday #12


Week 13

This is the first week in all of my life that I felt like a princess.  That feels worth noting first.  It has been quite a challenge for me to be still and let someone else bring me what I need.  It has been a challenge lying around seemingly doing nothing while Mr. Awesome or someone else does something for me.

I feel like I have risen to the challenge of allowing my body time to heal.  I feel like I have surrendered to being a princess.

Except that I probably could have done better.  I became frustrated easily that I was still having incision pain.  I tried hard to focus on the cuteness and good things right in front of me.  I was pretty successful at letting the cuteness prevail.

Although I could have done better.

I always think I could have done better.  I still am pleased that I could lay in my bed for as long as I have laid in my bed in the past nine days.  Yes, I have tested the limits.  I am pretty sure I wouldn’t be walking around the house as well as I am, were it not for my need to test those limits.

My PLS symptoms remain manageable even though I cannot do my regular physical therapy routine.  I am happy about that and proud of my efforts throughout the long and dramatic decreasing of the doses.

Today makes ten days since I had my intrathecal baclofen pump removed.  I can feel where the catheter tubing was pulled from around my body and I can feel where the pump pocket is healing.  I am sure the incisions are healing because they are itching and burning.

I am ready to skip past the next part of the healing process, but I guess I have to choose to participate in that as much as I have chosen to do anything lately.  Tuesday is my follow-up appointment to find out how my incisions are coming along.

I survived week one of recovery and so did my friends and Mr. Awesome, so I think it is ok.   I have tried to learn a bit from week one, but I will keep you posted on how well I apply those lessons in week two!

Comments on: "Sum Up Sunday #12" (7)

  1. I wish the same for you, my friend. Hope you had a good day.:)

    Like

  2. I read a few of your posts and plan to read more. You are very inspirational. I’m really struggling to get myself back to that point, but I will. Hearing from people like you and reading your posts are very helpful. I hope you continue to improve and get the best out of life despite your limitations. You sound like a real “fighter.”
    Peace and Hugs,
    Tammy 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you Tammy! Not to worry, when you have gotten what you need from where you are, you will move forward. You will grow through this! Namaste and many hugs!

      Like

      • I sure hope so because I’m in such a low place right now. I’m not always like this, but this flare has been going on for 6 weeks, as of tomorrow. That’s a long time and it gets very frustrating when I’m going along and doing pretty good, then “BOOM” knocked right back down. HUGS right back at ya.
        Peace 🙂
        Tammy

        Like

        • That is a long time and it is so hard to see beyond the pain and symptoms after a point. You are looking and reaching out beyond them and I know that is what will help the most. Wise mind is on it from what I can tell. Keep writing…wise mind will find you in the words. Big hugs!

          Like

        • Thank you so much for your support and kind words. It’s people like you that make a difference in the lives of others. Big Hugs!
          Peace 🙂
          Tammy

          Like

        • Be well my friend!

          Like

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

