Sharing the lessons along the way…

Endings and Beginnings


Endings-Beginnings

To start off the new month, I saw the doctor who was managing my baclofen pump for what was likely the last time.  I have spent nearly every week in that office since May, so it was strange to leave there with no follow-up appointment.

The sutures are healing nicely on all three incisions, and I was granted permission to shower for the first time in 12 days.  That was so nice that after I finished the first long shower, I started another one.  I wasn’t granted pool permission for another week, which is probably when I will start working my way back onto the exercise bike.

I couldn’t escape the visit to this particular doctor’s appointment without there being a mistake of some sort, however.  It seems that putting the strength of the pain medication on the prescription is pretty important to a pharmacy.  Huh.  It was also a shock that it couldn’t be resolved in the same day.

While frustrated and in need of those medications, I couldn’t help but joke that it is good I get out of that office before they do succeed at killing me or driving me mad.  My experiences in the past decade with doctor’s offices could become a dark comedy routine.

While the rest of my day was grading presentations, my dogs and I were still under the continued care of Mr. Awesome.

Today, my world will look normal.  I am going to try to take the dogs for a short trek around the neighborhood in the power wheelchair to see how that feels, then Duke and I will go see the good folks at the Homeless Emergency Project.

I think I am making October 2013 the recovery month.  My efforts will be focused on taking care of these incisions, getting back to where I was several weeks ago (or better), taking care of any unfinished business, and then getting on with the business of creating what happens next.

 

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

