Sharing the lessons along the way…

The Power of the Seed


When I went to pick up more heart medication for Amore yesterday, the veterinarian’s face showed pleasant surprise when I told him that he was doing really well.  He didn’t question it, didn’t throw anything else out there, and said, “Well, let’s get him some more and go with it then!”

The office was really busy, so I didn’t get a chance to ask him the millions of questions I had about all of it.  Since Duke was with me, I did point to him and say, “Should I be worried about this guy?”

He said that this was one of those cases where what we don’t know won’t hurt us.  I am ok with that answer.

While I will call and ask a couple more questions for when he has time, I wished I could just have him look at my sutures instead.

I trust him with my dogs and really appreciate that he doesn’t throw a lot of prognosis information out there since animals tend to not follow it anyway.

I wish he could manage my medical care because of how he delivers information.  He knows the power planting seeds has.

If the owner believes their canine companion is dying, then they treat the animal differently, and are constantly sending that energy to them.  They die soon after.

If the owner believes that anything is possible and treats the animal as the embodiment of spontaneous healing, then the animal lives for a lot longer.  Potentially same diagnosis, same circumstances, but different outcomes.

My veterinarian knows all of this, so that makes me wonder why my doctors (not my primary care doc) don’t have any understanding of this for humans.  Haven’t they seen the research about what happens in the brain when we imagine the worse possible outcome or the worse possible progressive course?

When the medical doctors and mental health professionals deliver a diagnosis, they also share the typical course of the illness.  What they say at that critical time when the patient is eager to be validated that there is a reason they feel crappy, is critical to what happens next.

They plant the seed.  The patient goes home and he or she and the whole family and support network then nurture that seed.  If the seed is negative or frightening (even though it is typical and realistic) then that is what will follow.

If the seed is neutral like my vet’s always has been with both of my dogs the last ten years, then what follows might still be scary, but there is no seed from a trusted know-it-all in the field planting a negative seed.

Amore is doing much better and aside from still being a bit wobbly and needing to rest more often, he seems almost as normal as he was Friday before all of this happened.standing mo

Now that he is better than stable, I can start to figure out how I am doing and share that with you.  I see the doctor about my stitches today and really wish I could just see my veterinarian.

Comments on: "The Power of the Seed" (6)

  1. Holly Smith said:

    I am continuing to send healing powers for you and both boys. Love ya lots, hugs and belly rubs.

  2. I think there’s a difference in the patients that can make a difference in the practitioner. For physicians, the patient can talk and describe symptoms and will, presumably, undergo a near infinite battery of tests/treatments to get well. For a veterinarian, you can observe and test, but you don’t know as much. As a result, you treat for what appears to make the patient feel better and get used to hoping for the best. I think MDs have more of a focus on the disease and science while DVMs focus a little more on the whole patient.

    If that sounded wise, some credit should go to a DVM friend who used to work in medical research and returned to his vet practice for the more holistic approach it offers.

    • Totally my point David! A friend of mine calls our health care system an “a la cart” system as if nothing is interrelated. I am happy my dogs get holistic care, but it is so frustrating not getting that myself!! It baffles me how parceled out my body has been in the past ten years!

      • I work on a medical campus and it’s amazing how much the MDs see people as body systems rather than whole people. They’ll treat in their specialty and be ignorant about the rest. Tell a psychiatrist you have headaches and you’ll get stress meds or anti-depressants. A neurologist will put you through an MRI. A rheumatologist will tell you about your allergies. But, then you’ll have a coffee and the headache’s gone … the original one, at least.

        • It is sad David. Research–solid research–has been around for decades about the interconnectedness of our bodies, so it frustrating that it is still being taught in such a linear way.

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

