Sharing the lessons along the way…

Idealistic Gradeur


No Limits

My dad says to me, “Why do you always insist on testing the limits?”

“Because it works for me most of the time. Unless it doesn’t,” I replied.

He laughed, and said that there was never a more true statement than that.

Seriously, I really wouldn’t be where I am in terms of mobility and peace of mind were it not for my insatiable need to push through the limits.

I honestly believe that what we perceive as our limit, limits us. I choose to believe, with a very grounded and fundamental understanding of what we know as the facts, that anything is possible.

It is only when we let go of our concrete idea of what makes a limit, that we can experience more than we ever imagined possible.

In my idealistic grandeur, I forget that my body does have some concrete limitations. Β All human bodies tend to have those.

Now that I have been reminded again of this fact, I guess I’ll step back to work within those limitations. But that does not mean that my quality of life, dreams, and hopes have to be limited as a result.

Last week, I was feeling quite defeated. My body had reached a physical limit, and my perception of the experience was that the rest of my life had also reached a limit. My guess is that this perception was based on what has happened in the past when I reached a physical limit.

This week, I see this physical limit as a grand opportunity. It’s not only an opportunity to get the expertise from the PT and OT folks, but it is also an opportunity to reevaluate the master plan to create an even better plan.

The way I see it, slowing down for a minute to allow my wrist to heal, is also a chance for me to gather up more tools. The more tools I have, the further I can push. The next time I push the limit, it will be smarter, and more precise.

Comments on: "Idealistic Gradeur" (5)

  1. It’s like a fitness program for some big event, like a marathon. At first, 5 miles hurts too much. After a while, maybe with some training that goes too far, it takes 10 miles to overdo it. It doesn’t go as quickly as one would like, but over time, with gently pushes on boundaries, it works.

    Hmm … you knew that already, didn’t you?

  2. We’re blog twins today. I just posted about the same thing and I absolutely agree with it. πŸ˜€ Hip hip hooray for us limit pushes! May we always move towards the beauty of our dreams! πŸ™‚

    • It is an honor to be your blog twin!! I don’t know how we could possibly know what our limits are if we didn’t test them. πŸ™‚

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

