Sharing the lessons along the way…

Wrist Injury Update


patience

It is been a little more than three weeks since I hurt my hand, wrist and forearm to the point of not being able to use it. I am trying to be patient, I really am.

While I have been receiving occupational therapy, it seems that this is taking forever. My occupational therapist reminded me yesterday that these types of injuries take time to heal.

In efforts to not use my right hand, I am creating the same pain on the left hand, wrist and forearm. A couple of days ago, I had over used my left, but the right was feeling some better, so I compensated with the right one.

The result at the end of the day, was tears. I needed to fill out some forms and I had been trying to wait until my hand felt some better, but I was running out of time.

Apparently I have tweaked both wrists now. It’s making for an interesting time. Once I tweaked them, it seems to take a couple of days of not using them much at all, for them to calm down and to feel less painful.

I am continuing my physical therapy exercises. We had to reduce the frequency of the arm and hand exercises, however.

It isn’t real likely that I’ll be using a cane any time soon with this hand. I’m warming up to the idea of just walking those short distances. I have tested it out a little bit here and there, and while I still do not trust my legs, I have had no problems.

I’m also trying to make the most of the downtime. It is a little bit frustrating not being able to write, do much on the computer, or anything else that requires my hands.

Going out anywhere presents so many logistical challenges, that I am choosing to only do what is necessary until I’m more comfortable with my legs.  I have found that I can hold a book, and appeared to have concentration and focus enough to read one.

The burning torso has made an appearance more frequently in the past week, but has not been of the same intensity as it was. I am no longer as distressed by it when it happens as I was.

I am choosing to view this as a lesson in patience, and presume this is the remedial class. It is not a lesson that I seem to learn very quickly, but that’s just going to have to be okay too.

Comments on: "Wrist Injury Update" (2)

  1. I feel for you and send you my good wishes. It’s nice to read the experiences of someone else with this frustrating disease. To me it can feel like a cycle of grieving as each symptom, pain, stiffness, twitch reminds me of what I can no longer do and worse, wont be able to in the future! It has made me appreciate the smaller things in life that I would have taken for granted though. In some ways, the cliche of less is more, is actually true. Hope you can stay positive. Miles x

    • Thanks Miles! I appreciate you stopping by and commenting. I really try to focus on what I can do versus what I can no longer do, but this is a challenge at the moment. Going from fully managed symptoms to a slow return of more symptoms in recent weeks has been more of an emotional challenge than a physical one, even though it has been both. Less can indeed be more. How are you managing your spasticity? I love your photos and your perspective! Hugs!

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

