Sharing the lessons along the way…

Birthday Doggie Drama


For the last five birthdays, my boy Duke and his brother Amore have gotten into something that could kill them.  One year, it was Melody’s rum balls Duke ate.  Another year, they opened up a ten-pound bag of sugar and ate most of it in my living room floor while I was out.

Last year, Duke ate a huge organic very dark chocolate bar and wrapper, after which, I had to induce vomiting and watch him closely for 24 hours.

This year, I thought for sure, there was not anything for them to get into while I was out getting my hair done.

But I forgot to take the garbage out.

We came home to the sight of coffee grounds, egg shells and cedar shards from a cedar plank I used to cook some salmon strewn about the kitchen and living room floors.

I forgot that was even in there.

How much did they consume?  Which one had the most?

I always assume it was Duke simply because he is the dog with independent thought.  I cannot rule Amore out in the eating some of the garbage strewn about the house, however.

Someone threw up either while I was out to dinner or while I was sleeping.  Cedar shards from that forgotten plank were present.

Which one did it?  Who had the most of the cedar?

They are still eating, drinking water and going to the bathroom with no more throwing up, so perhaps we have averted a full-out birthday doggie drama.  I watched them like a hawk yesterday just to be sure.

Perhaps Duke prefers I spend my birthdays with him, and certainly ends up getting his wish.

Otherwise, my birthday was great.  I spent Sunday working, monitoring my dogs, and resting up for the week ahead.

Birthday #43

 

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

