Sharing the lessons along the way…

Do What You Know


I have started dozens of blogs this week.  I have finished only a few.

When I sat to write this one, I had abandoned three others.

It isn’t that I don’t have anything to say because I certainly do have a lot to say.

It isn’t that I am not focused because I am focused.

The problem, if it can be considered a problem, is that I have too much to say and it is all connected.

I am in the process of simplifying my basic coping strategies right now to minimize my episodes of becoming overwhelmed.  In my efforts, I am seeing just how convoluted I can make things in my head and with my thoughts.

While we do live in a pretty complicated society, there is nothing as complex as I make it in my mind sometimes.  Lately, I have been giving myself some breathing space.  I have been processing events and situations without overly complicated them.  I have been trying to get back to the basics.

Did you know that you cannot cope effectively with anything if you aren’t eating well, sleeping well, taking time to play, to laugh, sharing how you feel and what you are thinking?

The brain and body doesn’t have what it needs, so we are at a physiological handicap as we try to manage our emotional selves.

I teach this in each of my courses, so I am familiar with it.  I am not sure how I get so far away from it several times a year, but I do.

Yesterday afternoon, without any awareness as to what I was thinking about, I said to myself, “Tawny, stick with what you know.”

I know the basics.  I know how to simplify the complicated.  I know what does and can make me feel better.  I also know that if I do nothing else but those basic things that I can get through just about anything.

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

