Sharing the lessons along the way…

Friends, Sisters and Moms


In my life, I have been blessed with certain people popping in just at the right moment for just the right lesson.  As I was writing my manuscript last year, I saw this more clearly.

The first friend I made after breaking out of the nursing home was one of those people.  She was the first friend I made from a wheelchair who didn’t know me from before the onset of my illness.

I had just gotten my dogs back with me under the same roof after nine long months of homeless program and nursing home living.  I was not the same person after all of those experiences and I found developing a friendship challenging because I didn’t know who I was anymore.

She didn’t seem to care that I couldn’t answer any of the many questions she continued to ask about me.  The fact that she asked at all is what really made me realize that I had no idea the answers to simple questions about interests, hobbies, etc. anymore.  I decided to figure out the new answers and to begin to get to know this new Tawny while I was getting to know this new person.

She will tell you that I wasn’t very easy to get to know back then, although she didn’t know I didn’t know me that well either yet.

That was 8 ½ years ago and it seems that the universe sent me the big sister I had always wanted in this new friend.  We joked with her mom (a.k.a. Momma Ruthie) that I was the “accident” in the family.  On my birthdays, I would ask Momma Ruthie what my birth was like and her mom would just laugh and laugh.

Over the years, I have learned a lot about myself through my friendship with my big sister.  We have shared a lot and are really quite similar to really not be related genetically.  Last year, she lost Momma Ruthie on the same date between Christmas and New Year’s that I lost my mother many years before.

This year on the death anniversaries of our mothers, we will do something special together to remember our mothers.

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

