Sharing the lessons along the way…

I am not holding my breath


Since the baclofen pump was removed, I have been holding my breath.  I have been moving forward and doing all the physical therapy that I can tolerate, but I have been holding my breath that one day, when I least expect it, my symptoms will worsen.  I have been using past information and experience as my guide.

Our cold snap here in FL has certainly made my symptoms worse, but that is temporary.  I am very grateful I live in a subtropical climate.  Having the flu also made my symptoms worse, but so far, all symptoms are relatively manageable.

The added spasticity and clonus are making sprains and strains of muscles and tendons more frequent, but so far, that is the worst that has happened since the intrathecal baclofen stopped.  I do get more tired, more quickly.  I am more sensitive to sudden noises and startle more easily.  I am less coordinated.

The burning nerve pain from the wonky pump placement seems to be what it is.  Here one day intensely, and gone the next.  Perhaps it might be mild all day or maybe I hardly notice it at all.  I cannot predict it, and I have stopped trying to do so.

I can drive a car as far as I need to drive it.  I can almost sleep through the night comfortably.  I am not medicated to the point of not having full use of my brain, although there are times where more medication is needed.  It is possible that more medication will be warranted to decrease the strains and sprains, as those certainly decrease my ability to work.

Otherwise, I think it is time to breathe freely.  I am more than three months post op, so I would imagine this is a decent time to call a new baseline and continue to move forward.

Sometimes the past doesn’t have to be the best predictor of the future.

Comments on: "I am not holding my breath" (2)

  1. Inhaling AND exhaling! Live the luxury!

    I’m glad you’re gaining confidence in your post-pump life.

    Like

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

