Sharing the lessons along the way…

Inquiring Minds…


Enquiring Minds

“I just have to ask…”

“Why do you need a walker?”

“I just have to know…”

It is almost rare to go somewhere without someone asking me something about the wrist brace, the walker or the power wheelchair.

Yesterday, I was at my primary care doctor’s office getting ready to check out and a woman stops me to ask.  The office staff was mortified about how this woman did it.  She seemed to be asking like she worked for the National Enquirer with her big eyes looking at me as she came closer into my personal space.

She just had to know…

I don’t really mind.  I am seen laughing and joking with others in the waiting room. I am relatively young and seem to be too happy to have any real issues.

The waiting room at the doctor yesterday was full and there was a lot of humor in such a small space.  This woman was not part of the cutting up, but she was listening and watching everyone carefully.  We just happened to get finished at the same time, which gave her an opportunity to be an inquiring mind.

The office staff apologized for the woman’s behavior.  It wasn’t necessary.  I shared with them other instances where people have bluntly, and often inappropriately, asked me what was wrong with me.  The woman said she felt sorry for me.  I thanked her for her sympathy, and said, “It is what it is.  I do not feel sorry for myself.”

Did she also ask the elderly man in a power wheelchair what was wrong with him that he needed the chair?  Or the other woman in the waiting room who used a cane?

I started wondering when assistive equipment became such a conversation pieces?  Not that I really mind, I suppose.  I guess I can appreciate that I am approachable enough to satiate her need to know.

When I was taking things from my car once I returned home, I was approached by another inquiring mind who lives down the street.  She was walking her dog and said she saw me walking mine with the power chair and was wondering…

I do not like to focus on the problem—the illness, the symptoms, the limitations.  On days I would prefer to invisibly get done what needs to get done, there are inquiring minds such as these.  I have to wonder about the timing…

Comments on: "Inquiring Minds…" (4)

  1. long ago i had unexplained double vision,and the various doctors could not find the cause/trigger. once i month i returned to the neurologist’s office, and i always noted that most everyone else had an obvious reason for being there, and i did not feel worthy of going in front of others who seemed to be so much worse than i. (unless i had an undiscovered aneurysm ready to burst or something like that..)

    i think that many times people realize, by seeing others who are using crutches, wheelchairs, etc, that they are indeed very lucky and that could be them… they often do not have the social skills to approach this with sensitivity, and you are quite gracious (and evolved) to overlook those awkward moments.

    Like

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

