Sharing the lessons along the way…

Nerdville


Before I knew it two hours had passed.  I had been geeking out in nerdville and had lost track of time.

Then I realized that I had not written a post for today.  I did start rewriting and updating research for another nerdville writing project I hope to finish up before the summer months, however.

What is fun about this project is that it totally fits my theme for the year, which is simplicity.  If I can gain a basic understanding of something that is hugely complex, I can generally pare it down to the bare bones and explain it to my dogs.

That is exactly what I am doing with the growing body of research in neuroscience—simplifying it so that it is meaningful to any of us.

One of the key pieces of information in all of this research is that the brain is changeable.  No matter how old you are, you can rewire it if you want to.

Of course, those of us with disease processes aren’t going to be able to make the same changes that someone with a non diseased brain can.  At the same time, you can have a huge chunk of nothing in one part of your brain and the information can still get around it, with some rerouting of the wiring in the brain.

I started on this research path in a synchronistic way the year before last in a serious way.  I actually started researching neuroscience accidentally nine years ago after breaking out of the nursing home.  Because of so many things last year, I lost focus on it.  I was working on this about the same time I finished writing my book, so I needed to take a break from writing.

Nerdville is one of my favorite places to go and if I could live in a library’s stacks with the journals, I think I might (if they allowed dogs).

It is fun for me, but now my brain is not eager to switch gears to prepare for bedtime.

Comments on: "Nerdville" (1)

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

