Sharing the lessons along the way…

Lesson of the Lilies


Lesson from a Lily

For the past two weeks, I have watched these two lilies trying to rise up and bloom from the pot on my patio.  I don’t recall it taking them quite this long to actually bloom, so I have made up a story about how the cooler weather has confusing them.  I have no idea of the validity of such a story.

Each time they seem to be close to bursting out their beautiful orange pedals, they stop doing anything for a few days.

Like the lily, I feel like I have tried to rise up to burst open into full bloom, but haven’t been able.

Today, I studied my lilies closely.  I wondered what it might be like to be the frustrated lily.  How were they managing the barriers to their full bloom?

They still stand tall.  They are still poised to reach their full potential.  They have not stopped trying to bloom in spite of the crazier than usual winter weather in Florida.  Each day, they keep trying to make it happen because they don’t know any better.

Unlike the lily, I do not have just one blooming experience for which to strive.  I plan to have many, but that doesn’t make the lesson of the lily any less significant to me.

I have to continue to stand tall and poised for any and all potential blooming experiences.  No matter what bricks are thrown at me from my mailbox or the doctors’ offices, I cannot stop trying.  It doesn’t matter what might happen or why it might happen that way because today, I am going to do my best to keep going as if I didn’t know any better.

Comments on: "Lesson of the Lilies" (2)

  1. Love this analogy… it’s an incredible gift to be able to see some of your own realities reflected in the things around you.

  2. Very inspiring and poetic…thank you! 🙂

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

