Sharing the lessons along the way…

Duke is my Co-Pilot


Duke new roles collage

I am very fortunate that one of my jobs happens to involve my dog Duke.  The other one allows me to be sitting beside Duke on my computer at my house.  Being with Duke seems to be about the only thing making losing Amore somewhat easier.  We are together now nearly all the time.

Almost immediately, I was able to recognize just how different it is with one large dog instead of two.  For nearly 13 years, I often struggled as a single dog mom to manage two big dogs.  It was important to me that they get what they needed—a schedule with walks, attention, rules, etc.

I can appreciate the ease of one, now, after all those years with two.  I am still quite shocked by the difference during walks, as I get ready to go somewhere with or without Duke, feeding times, medication times, having company, and well, just about everything really.  It potentially allows me more flexibility as it is much easier to take one dog that two wherever I might want to go.

While I can see and appreciate the differences and the advantages, it still all feels wrong without the big goofy one.  My hope is I can continue to focus on those positives anyway as Duke and I set up new normal things to do for just the two of us.

I have no intention of missing any precious moments with Duke.  I didn’t miss many with Amore either, and often chose to stay home with them instead of doing something else because I knew our time was limited.

Now, I am more likely to stay home unless he’s coming with me.  Duke already is running errands and going most places with me.  At first, it was for him because he hadn’t ever been great at staying home alone, but now it is really for me too.  I will hold on tightly while I can.

 

 

 

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

