Sharing the lessons along the way…

Never. Stop. Trying.


 

never stop tryingPerhaps you know this about me by now, but if it needs mentioned, I am a person of action.  If something in my life is not working, I make every effort to put a plan in action to change it.

I bring this up because I am starting to wonder if most of our medical care isn’t contrary to this notion.

Off and on for years, I have asked, “What else can I do about this or about that?”

Often the response I get is, “Nothing.” Or perhaps, “You can try this medication or that medication.”  My all-time favorite is “You can get used to it.”  That one I will never forget because that was about me being wheelchair bound and we know how that turned out.  I never did because I didn’t believe I couldn’t do something about it.

It is rare that I get information from a doctor that allows me to do what I do best—take action.  I have gotten this from physical therapists, occupational therapists, psychotherapists, alternative medicine practitioners, and speech therapists; however, in my lifetime of visiting various medical practitioners.

While I might not always enjoy what the action is (take the intermittent self-catheterization for a prime example), I am willing to take it.  While I don’t get information from the doctor or whomever, I will take action to research it to try to figure it out anyway.

Several months ago, I learned and started doing pelvic floor exercises in an effort to avert the need for the use of the icky catheter.  While it hasn’t prevented that, I know it is helping strengthen my pelvic floor area which is necessary for bladder, bowel, and sexual function.

Neurogenic bladders, neurogenic bowels and such are fairly common with spinal cord injuries and diseases that affect the upper and lower motor neuron pathways.

My illness supposedly has upper motor neuron only involvement, and I will spare you the details of what I have taken upon myself to learn about the relationship between the upper motor neurons and these neurogenic systems.

My point is this:

I am doing just about everything I can possibly do that is within my power.  If it isn’t within my power to take action, I am taking action anyway to change my perception about it.  I am never going to love the catheter.  In fact, I may always think it is icky.  But I can still appreciate its necessity and how little control I have over its new role in my life.

 

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

