Sharing the lessons along the way…

I’m No Superman…


Superman

After several months of trying to be like a superhero, it took dressing my dog up as Superman and a few other timely events, to make me aware of my behavior.

Guess what I remembered?

I am not a superhero.  I do not have super powers.  I cannot leap tall buildings in a single bound.  I do not have an invisible jet, nor do I have a super twin.

I am not responsible for the well-being, happiness, health or anything else for anyone else.  I am responsible for my stuff.  Superheroes get to tend to the welfare of others.

In my work with my veterans and my students, the best I can do is to help others to help themselves.  I can encourage others to find their path to their greatest potential.  Why would I expect to be able to do more than that in my personal affairs?

Beats me.

Fortunately, I remembered that I really can’t.  Not that I don’t revisit this often in my life, but it is always good to find my way back from it without doing too much damage to my health and well-being.

When I think I have superpowers, I can be vulnerable.  If I buy into feeling responsible for someone else’s well-being, apparently I will take that on as my own.  It has been a very long time since anyone has been selling me their issues in my personal space.

When I have superpowers, I generally overdo it physically.  When I overdo it physically, I am pretty vulnerable to everything.  I am vulnerable to germs for sure, so why not also be vulnerable much more to include taking on what is not mine to take on?

Duke and I did a test run on Monday of last week for his Superman costume, which is the day I realized just how far I had taken my own pretend superpowers.  As issues continued to be for sale through the week, I decided not to dress myself or Duke as a superhero by midweek.

Even though Duke is my superhero, we decided to hang up the cape.

Comments on: "I’m No Superman…" (1)

  1. I know you like sharing songs occassionally to express feelings so I figured I’d share one. Of course, someone else’s words are never as good as your own, especially if they promise things you dont truly mean like “go on and tear me apart, I dont care if you do” (sounds like too much work to me Mr Martin.) Still, this fits well here I think. Youtube it if you would like. xo – CR

    “Waiting For Superman” by Flaming Lips

    Asked you a question
    I didn’t need you to reply
    Is it gettin’ heavy?
    But then I realized
    Is it gettin’ heavy?
    Well I thought it was already as heavy
    As can be

    Is it overwhelming
    To use a crane to crush a fly?
    It’s a good time for Superman
    To lift the sun into the sky

    ‘Cause it’s gettin’ heavy
    Well I thought it was already as heavy
    As can be

    Tell everybody
    Waitin’ for Superman
    That they should try to hold on
    The best they can
    He hasn’t dropped them
    Forgot them
    Or anything
    It’s just too heavy for Superman to lift

    Is it gettin’ heavy?
    Well I thought it was already as heavy as can be.

    Tell everybody
    Waitin’ for Superman
    That they should try to hold on
    The best they can
    He hasn’t dropped them
    Forgot them
    Or anything
    It’s just too heavy for Superman to lift

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

