Sharing the lessons along the way…

The Power of Words


WORDS have power

I have written several posts lately, but have not posted them.  It is funny to me really.  It isn’t because I think they are bad or because I am not happy with them.  I simply decided not to post them.

Instead, I have decided to share what I learned from writing them and choosing not to post them.

Words have a lot of power.  Words have the power to lift us up, drag us down and all variations in between.  They have the energy and power to heal, and at the same time, I have come to realize, that sometimes words can be a bit empty and have harmful energy too.

With selfish or ill intentions, or no actions behind them, they are simply a bunch of letters strung together into words, put into some order that makes a sentence or three.

For me, words have great meaning and power.  I don’t often say or write something that I don’t mean and don’t often share things that I am doing unless I am doing them.  Stringing words together into meaningful sentences is almost a spiritual practice for me.  I cannot expect that is the case for anyone else.

What I have learned is that this is my personal practice and my belief system about the practice, but not necessarily anyone else’s.  It’s ok that it isn’t.  It’s ok if it is.  What matters to me is what I do with my words.

My goal with my words is to pay forward what I am learning from my experiences with chronic illness and life in general.  Someone out there in cyber land may find my words helpful, inspirational, or relatable.  The intention is to share the lessons in order to help someone else or offer hope.

The lesson for me in the not posting was somewhat liberating.  I am only responsible for what I say, what I do, and how I choose to be in this life.  While I may have known that already on some level, sometimes in my efforts to help others, I accidentally make myself responsible for them too. Fortunately, I am not!  Shew!  I feel like I have my hands full already with just my own!

Comments on: "The Power of Words" (1)

  1. Holly Smith said:

    Your word flow like a nice stream. You throw some curves/bends in there but they just keep flowing nicely. So keep going!!

    Like

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

