Sharing the lessons along the way…

Gratitude is…


gratitude

After a few really trying years, it really feels good to wake up each day with more things than I can count to be grateful for in this life.  Sometimes I wonder if I am not the luckiest woman on the planet, despite the unfortunate things that have happened in my life.

I remember a couple of decades ago when Oprah was first starting to talk about gratitude and how she recommended everyone keep a gratitude journal.  I certainly wasn’t close to being able to see and feel the gratitude I feel today, but I distinctly remember seeing that show and wondering if it could be something helpful.

Several times lately, I have been asked something and the only answer I had was, “I am the luckiest woman on the planet!”  I am asked often about my health, my mobility and my jobs, and this is all I can really say about any of it.

Today, I had the opportunity to share with a friend quite a bit of the very long list of things for which I am grateful.  I never imagined being where I am today, doing what I am doing today, having the perspective I have today, nor growing into the woman I have become today.  This friend has seen at least the last 10 years of growth and has definitely contributed to it.  Of course, countless people have contributed to my growth and development at various twists and turns on my journey.

Back then, all I knew was that I sought to heal old wounds, and grow into a more loving and compassionate human.  I knew I needed to shift my way of thinking and relating with the world.  It honestly wasn’t until I got this rare motor neuron disease that the growth started to translate into daily life, but it was more a matter of being able to get through the day at the start.

The shift in perspective happened gradually over a couple years until all I had sometimes was gratitude for the little things.  The little things added up over the years to where I honestly wake up most days feeling like the luckiest woman on the planet—even when I forget to make my coffee the night before and have to use a catheter to pee.

I don’t really believe in luck, for the record.  I am not even sure there are any coincidences or accidents in this life either.  I am as grateful for the hard times as I am the times like recent weeks where I am fueled by gratitude.  Growth continues to happen either way and there is a lesson tucked inside everything if you look hard enough.

Comments on: "Gratitude is…" (1)

  1. Hearing you talk about it tonight was beautiful actually. You are deserving and fortunate but earned it all baby! Happy Thanksgiving!

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

