Sharing the lessons along the way…


2015 #3

In my last two posts, I have given you a question to ask yourself with the end goal of creating a better 2015 than 2014.  To recap, the first one was “If you could change one thing about 2014, what would it be and why?”  The second one was, “What stopped you from meeting a goal you set for yourself in 2014 that remains a goal in 2015?”

Now for the final of The Tawny’s top three things to ask yourself to make 2015 better than 2014:

What will 2015 look like, feel like and be like if it is better than 2014?

And the loaded part of the questions…

We have to know what 2014 felt like, looked like and was like first, so we have to figure out a way to measure that.  Is your quality of life (genuine happiness and gratitude) different (good, bad, ugly)?  Do you feel better or worse about yourself, your future, your life, the things in your life (spouse, job, whatever)?  Where is 2014 compared to where you wanted 2014 to be?  How is it compared to what your “idea” of it was going to be before the year began?

These are some heavier questions, but we cannot know if 2015 will be better or how to make it better if we don’t know how 2014 impacted us, can we?

I will give you an example:

My 2014 started out pretty scary and sad.  I lost a dog companion of 13 years, lost medical coverage, was handed a huge debt to the government.  I anticipated some of that happening throughout the year, but not all in the first quarter of the year necessarily.  From there, 2014 seemed to only get better.  By the end, I not only feel like the quality of my life is better but also that my confidence in all areas of my life is better.  My 2014 was a quite a bit better than I expected it to be in spite of the first quarter trauma.

For 2015 to look better than that, I will have to do much the same to deal with any traumas or monkey wrenches.  2015 holds with it opportunities to really impact a lot of people, so I will have to make sure that I take extra good care of myself along the way to implement a new program and continue with what I am already doing.

I know these three questions are not quite as simple as they seem and quite honestly make us take a closer (perhaps hard) look at stuff we might have rather not.  These are the things I ask myself at the close of a year because I always believe there is room for growth and improvement no matter how good or not so good a year has been!

I would love to hear your thoughts on how you plan to create a better 2015 for yourself!

Comments on: "Creating a Better 2015 #3 of 3" (1)

  1. I plan on creating a better 2015 for my self by practicing healthy behaviors like meditation, yoga, mindfulness and centering using the tools and exercises available through different sources. It starts with just a single breath or step but becomes easier and better over time. I look forward to an incredible transformation!

    Like

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

