Sharing the lessons along the way…

Committing to the Catheter


Catheter Chart

It has been a little while since I have written much about the catheter, and honestly, that was because I couldn’t seem to get into a groove using it like I was supposed to be using it.  I have (half-assed) tried a variety of systems to try to help me to do it on a schedule to make sure my kidneys stay less stressed, but had been failing miserably.

I hadn’t really made a schedule (except for a general one in my mind) and kept conveniently “forgetting” and doing it irregularly (obviously not at all that committed).  So, made a commitment about doing it right with a friend of mine a few weeks ago, and after not really doing great for the first week after that, I decided last week to make a check off chart on my bathroom mirror.

If you have read my blog for long, you know that I often use the dry erase marker on my mirror for a variety of things.  It occurred to me that it could certainly not hurt to try it for the catheter schedule too.

Last week, I did great until I was distracted by painting the walls of my place and rearranging furniture.  Overall, I did much better than I have in months just the same.  I only missed two of the twenty-one catheters I should be using in a week.  I did a general timetable, instead of rigid times that don’t work well with my schedule these days.

So far, this week, I am at 100%.  I will just keep this chart on my mirror for however long it takes for me to do it without it.  It doesn’t matter how much or how little I like doing it anymore.  It matters that I make it happen, regardless.

(If you are confused why I am talking about using a catheter, you can catch up by reading this blog.)

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

