Sharing the lessons along the way…


may dogs 14-15

May is always a significant month for me, and I think I write about it every year.

This May marks 10 years since I broke out of the nursing home and embarked on independent living that everyone seemed to tell me was not in my future.  My Duke and Amore’ returned to me on the month of their 4th birthdays, and we proceeded to create a new life together.  I find it hard to believe that in the 10th year after homelessness and nursing home experience that I am where I am.

It is a bit more intense this year for me.  So much so, that I have to think about it in little tiny bits and pieces.

In the month of May, I met the older “sister” I always wished I had through an interesting turn of events, and it is a decade long friendship that certainly was well-timed for figuring out how I wanted to start my new life chapter back then.

May is the month of my mom’s birth and mother’s day.  As I inch closer to the age she was when she died, these have a different feel to them.  I cannot imagine feeling like giving up in this life at such an age, but I am old enough to be able to see clearly the good things I got from mom and to appreciate her.   It has become the month when I celebrate all of the moms who have adopted me over the years.

Five years ago, Duke became an official Therapy Dog at the Homeless Emergency Project.  He not only celebrated his 14th birthday this month, but he also celebrates a 5th work anniversary.  I can hardly believe the number of major life events he has been witness to and been both my lighthouse and my grounding.

Last year, Ruby entered my world in May and so did many of her greyhound rescue folks.  While it has been a challenge to integrate a unique little soul into our household since the loss of Amore, she has certainly kept me focused, grounded and present.

I am always fascinated how one month out of twelve can hold so much significance.  Even if I only look at the last 10 years of Mays, I can hardly believe the number of events that have contributed to the me I have become.

As you celebrate Mother’s Day today, I hope you will take a few minutes to consider where you might have been ten Mays from now.  Honor the differences, honor the change and honor the growth.  I think mom would be proud.  I certainly am.

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

