Sharing the lessons along the way…

In all seriousness…


Little Tawny

When I was a little girl, I wondered what I was doing here.  I remember obsessing about it so much that I wrote a note to God on my little chalkboard asking him to tell me, and waited for a response.  I was sad and disappointed when there was no response on my chalkboard.

It was hard to be so young and to feel so lost.  Other kids played on the playground seemingly unconcerned about why they were here and I couldn’t understand why I seemed to be the only one who cared about it.

It seems the answer to that question came in the form of life events after that.  When I knew I was here to make a difference, then I had to figure out how I could make the biggest difference in this life.

All life events in my teens and early 20’s led me to the conclusion that I needed to make a difference in my own life before I could make a bigger impact for others doing whatever it was I would be doing.  As I worked on healing my own issues, it seems the questions about why I am here and how I can make a difference started to answer themselves through the process.

Being able to take care of myself first and then help others was not easy for me to put into practice.  Fortunately, life gave me illness to hone that skill set.  Now that illness isn’t in the forefront of my life, I notice that I have to make more deliberate and conscious efforts to make sure I am practicing self-care.

Part of my self-care is including playtime—fun and laughter– because that serious little girl missed a lot of that growing up.

I like that as I look back at how all the events in my life have shaped me.  I like that I know why I am here and how I can best serve while I am here.  I also like that I have so many people in my life who also know how they can best serve and seek to do so in their lives.

Day 16 and beyond the half way mark of the challenge.  I needed to be writing again as part of my self-care, so I am grateful to have been inspired by a great team of writers and one larger-than-life Dinosaur.

 

 

 

 

 

Comments on: "In all seriousness…" (2)

  1. I don’t know why you– or any of us– are here, but I do know you have made a difference. A big one. A positive one. And I am grateful to you for that, since I’ve reaped the benefits of your rainbows more than once. 🙂

    I’m glad you’re partaking of the poblano season this year, Tawny. 🙂

    I don’t know if you saw this post by another pepper, but it reminded me of your always-message to stand tall, and stand up, http://charlesaugustusblog.com/2015/11/15/passing-the-baton/

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Jazz Lily

Be the change

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

