Sharing the lessons along the way…

Bunker It


igloo bunker image

Photo Credit: John and Merilyn

No matter how simple I make something, at times it all still feels quite heavy.  To ease the weight of my full plate today, I built myself a bunker.  I imagine it to look very much like a bomb shelter, except that it is above ground and mixed together with an igloo image.  It has gray, thick, block-shaped slabs of concrete for its walls and a rounded top, much like an igloo.

I didn’t realize I was actively building it as the day progressed until I thought back on my first image.  My first image was one gray wall that was taller than me.  Then there were two walls, then four and then a ridiculously rounded top that made me chuckle by the middle of the afternoon.

Throughout the day, I tossed some of the heavier issues that are on my plate into the bunker.  I could see myself tossing them into the air and them landing in the bunker.  At first, this is probably why it didn’t have the igloo part.  That makes it easier to lob over some intrusive thought of one of the heavier things on my plate.

Today was not the day for any of those heavy things.  Today was for Duke and HEP, and later for my students at Phoenix.   I will pull out some of the heavier items from the bunker for tomorrow.

What do you do with the things that weigh heavily on your mind?

Comments on: "Bunker It" (2)

  1. When things are really flying at me hard and heavy, I hide in my bunker. I like your idea of putting all the crap in the bunker so I can roam free. 🙂

    Like

    • I hear ya Pat! By the end of the week, I wanted to toss it all out and go into the bunker! Roaming free no matter what is going on is my preference! 🙂 Hugs!

      Like

Please share your thoughts about this post!

Kitt O’Malley

Bipolar Writer and Mental Health Advocate

BeautyBeyondBones

Because we’re all recovering from something.

The Matticus Kingdom

Whatever it will be...

Breaking Moulds

Because moulds are for playdough, not people.

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

bad brain beautiful brain

stroke recovery and mindfulness